side menu icon

Girl Scouts Honor 2018 Women of Distinction

TOL-WOD Honorees
Women of Distinction Honorees from left to right: Rhonda Sewell, Barbara Petee, Adrienne Taylor, Renee Smith, and Diana Patton

Toledo, OH—On Thursday, October 25, 2018, five local community leaders were recognized as 2018 Women of Distinction by the Girl Scouts of Western Ohio.

This year's honorees are women who have made significant contributions in one or more key focus areas for success:

The Women of Distinction award was established to honor the many exceptional women in our community who are paving the way for girls. These local women give hope and inspiration to girls through their achievements and passion for our communities.

"Recognizing the accomplishments and contributions of women is important for every community," said Roni Luckenbill, CEO of Girl Scouts of Western Ohio. "We strive to build girls just like the estimable women we celebrate today. By lifting them up, we are showing our girls what true leadership and character is all about, and we encourage our girls to lead by their example." 

The awards program was emceed by Kristi Leigh, a news anchor for WTOL-TV. Leia Wenninger, a sophomore in homeschooling and Juliette Girl Scout, and Avery Thompson, a sophmore at Toledo School for the Arts from Troop 10657, were the keynote speakers. The event, made possible by generous individuals and event sponsors, generated over $19,600. Sponsors included Key Bank, Buckeye Broadband, Cooper Tires, Edward Jones, Hartmann & Associates, Hylant, Morgan Stanley, ProMedica, and SSOE. 

Girl Scouts helps every girl discover the leader she can be. Join Girl Scouts today or learn more about volunteering or making a donation at